MAPP / GPS Training Week 3

OneStepCloser

I’m a little late in updating from this past Tuesday’s Class. It’s been pretty busy around here checking things off on that adoption / foster training checklist!

The class was about being a “loss expert”. I have to admit, when we left class last week and they told us what the topic would be, I was a bit stressed. “Loss” to me, meant “losing someone”. I was stressing for about a week dreading how I would probably have to talk about my biggest loss and crying in front of the group! It didn’t happen, though. They talked about being an expert in loss… meaning being able to identify losses children experience when they enter foster care, and how to help them.

For instance, an event happens that leads a child to being removed from their home, what did they lose?

  • parents
  • home
  • possibly siblings
  • possibly school system
  • friends
  • safety

You can see where the list can go, the behaviors and emotions that can result. What if it happened to you? You can kind of see what the class was like. It was emotional and educational. Week 3 was way better than week 1. I think the group is finding its groove and beginning to open up more… and speaking of opening up…

Please let me take a few moments to brag on my husband here! ❤ Some backstory… He was born with Crouzon Syndrome. He had to endure many many surgeries (and of course doctor appointments!) from birth to around age 18, being his last surgery. He has PTSD and severe anxiety over appointments… poor guy, married ME, the girl who always has an appointment! 🙂

We knew going into adoption / fostering, we would need to get a physical. I’ve been with my husband for about 7 and a 1/2 years now, and he’s never had his own doctor’s appointment, and was now faced with having to make an appointment. He is that committed to this child that isn’t with us yet, that he put aside his fears and did it. I was so proud of him and he did amazing!

He also can tend to be on the quiet side sometimes, and in our class, you have to participate. You have to read aloud at times, role play situations, and share your thoughts and feelings with the instructors and the class. This past Tuesday, my husband was reading aloud, sharing profound comments and thoughts! There were even a few times, I turned to him and said aloud, “Good job, babe” and “I’m so proud of you, great answer!”. I so hope I didn’t embarrass him! It’s just that I KNOW how amazing, wonderful, caring, and smart he is… when the rest of the world gets to see it to, it just makes me beam with pride! Sometimes I can’t even believe he picked me to be his person 🙂 ❤

So now onto the checklist for those of you that don’t know… I don’t have it in front of me but these are some of the things you need to do (and/or provide) to complete training:

  • 30 hours of training (The MAPP GPS Classes)
  • Home Study visits (we have our first coming up in July!)
  • FBI Fingerprinting
  • Physicals
  • TB (PPD) testing
  • Finances
  • Insurance
  • DMV Check
  • Criminal record check
  • Marriage / divorce certificates
  • Rabies vaccine records for any pets
  • State Central Registry clearance

I’m sure there are much more because my list is bigger than that lol, I just couldn’t remember them all.

Room update:

So we now have a crib and a toddler bed so we are ready for any sleeping arrangement. Diaper genie, a stack of diapers, board books, toys. We haven’t bought many clothes since we don’t know the exact ages yet, but we are doing some things here and there as you can see!

I hope you are enjoying following along our journey, I’ll write more next week. I have to go now. ❤

 

Leave a Reply

